APC wins Kwara NASS bye election

share on:

Honourable Olawuyi

…….APC Polls 21,236 votes, PDP records 18,095 votes

Honourable Tunji Olawuyi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Saturday House of Representatives bye election that held in Ekiti/Oke-Ero/Irepodun/Isin federal constituency in Kwara state.

Out of five political parties that locked horns in the bye election, Olawuyi of the APC topped the table with 21,236 votes to defeat Saheed Alatishe of Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) who polled 18,095 votes.

The Labour Party had 150 votes, the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) recorded 76 votes while the Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN) polled 42 votes.

The election which was keenly contested was reported to be very peaceful, fair and credible.

L-R Kwara REC Mallam Garba Madami, INEC Returning Officer Professor Abimbola Adesoji, another INEC staff and others at Omu-Aran during the announcement of result of the bye election

Announcing the result of the election at Omu-Aran, the headquarters of Irepodun local government, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer, Professor Abimbola Adesoji declared APC candidate as a winner having polled the highest number of votes.

Professor Adesoji said out of the 40,930 total votes cast, the total number of valid votes was 39,599 while 1,331 votes were rejected.

share on:

Leave a Response