Era of over relying on Federation Accounts gone for good– LG boss

share on:

By Yunusa Ishola

The Oke-Ero Local Government Area (LGA) of Kwara said on Thursday(January 18, 2018) that the era of relying solely on funds from Federation Account was gone for good.

Mr Joseph Oni, the Chairman of the council said this in Iloffa, while inaugurating the council’s Internal Revenue Generation (IGR) committee to boost the present revenue profile and fast track the socioeconomic development in the area.

He expressed the administration’s readiness to tap and harness the abundant human, cultural and natural resources available to enhance the desired growth, progress and development in the area.

Oni charged the committee members to exhibit honesty, diligence and transparency in the discharge of their responsibilities while emphasising the need for the members work with relevant stakeholders to ease their assignment.

He assured the committee of the council’s maximum support to enable the members to achieve its mandate .

“The importance and necessity of this committee is no longer hidden and arguable.
“It has now become clear to all and sundry that the era of relying on funds from the Federation Account is gone for good.

“It is, therefore, in the light of this fact that I call on the good people of the council across various communities to give the committee the needed support to succeed,” he said.

Oni also appealed to the people to ensure prompt payment of their taxes, levies and dues, as required by law to assist the council in providing basic social amenities to and improve their conditions.

Some of the committee members include Mrs Aminat Kareem, the council’s Vice Chairperson as Chairman and Comrade Olusegun Kehinde as Secretary.

Others are Adaraloye Adeboye, Awolola Abayomi, Abegunde James and Sola Ashaolu.
Also co-opted as members of the committee are the councillors representing the council’s ten wards namely; Kayode Olubunmi – Ayedun Ward, Adekola Kayode – Egosi Ward and Bankole Gbenga – Ekan Ward.

The rest are; Adewumi Samuel – Idofin Igbana 1, Adekunle John – Idofin Igbana 2, Babaomo Olawale – Idofin Odo-Ashe, Olaoye Olaoluwa – Imoji/Ilale/Erimmope Ward, Olaniyi Gabriel – Odo-Owa 1, and Bamidele Tosin-Ayo – Odo-Owa 2.

Kehinde, the Committee’s Secretary, while responding on behalf of members thanked the council for the opportunity given to them to serve.

He pledged that the committee would explore every available avenues and resources for timely achievement of its aims and objectives. (NAN)

share on:

Leave a Response