share on:
The IMAN Non-Interest Cooperative Society of the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital (UITH), Ilorin has set a ground running for the collaboration to float a microfinance bank.
The President of the cooperative,  Dr Habeeb K. Omokanye disclosed this on Saturday (March 18, 2018)  in his welcome address during the Trade Symposium and Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the IMAN cooperative,  held at Amilengbe, Ilorin.
Professor Egbewole making a contribution during the program
Dr Omokanye explained that the rationale behind the floating of Microfinance house was to add more value to the cooperative and to further stablise the cooperative  trade volume and broadning their assets base.
The cooperative President added that the IMAN cooperative under his leadership for the past three years has been able to sustain culture of transparency and probity  in business and customer friendly atmosphere.
He disclosed that the cooperative has provided financial empowerment and socioeconomic supports to members and their families at times of need,  adding that they have over the years maintained the good image of reliability, dependability, and ntegrity.
Dr Arowosaye making
comments during the event
In his lecture titled “Tapping into Islamic Finances for Economic Development :Understanding Sukuk” Dr Salahudeen Jubril Abdullahi described Shukuk as Islamic alternative to conventional bonds.
He said Sukuk is a Trust certificate in which investor returns are derived from legal or beneficial ownership of assets.
Dr Abdullahi warned people against lottery describing it as unislamic, saying that lottery does not solve people’s problems but rather makes people to be poorer.
Also present at the symposium included the former Grand Kadi of Kwara State Shariah Court,  Justice Mutolib Ambali who was the Chairman of the occasion; Professor Abdulgafar Ijaiya;  Professor Abdulwahab Egbewole; former UITH CMD, Professor Sulaiman Kuranga; representative of Vice Chancellor Al-Hikmah University Professor Taofeeq Ibraheem and many other personalities.
The symposium also featured the election of new executives to pilot the affairs of the cooperative for the next three years.
Dr Habeeb Omokanye giving his welcome address
The names and designations of the New IMAN Trust  executive is as follows, as announced by the shurah committee at the AGM
1-Dr.Habeeb Omokanye: President (ENT)
2-Dr Mrs Halimat Raji: vice President (O&G)
3-Mr. Sheriff Abdullah:
Gen Secretary (Admin)
4-Mr. Zubair Agboola Shuaib
Asst Sec (Admin)
5-Mr Shuaib Lanre Olowookere: Fin Sec (Fin & Acct)
6-Mr. Ahmed Abdullah (PRO)
7-Mrs Fatima Afolabi: Treasurer (Fin & Acct)
8-Mr Fatai Olalere: Chairman Loan cmtte: (Haematology)
9-Mr Muhammad Kamaldeen Ahmed: Sec. Loan Cmtte (Admin
10-Dr A. A.  nasir: Chairman, Venture centre (Surgery)
11-Pharm. Abdulwasiu Olagunju: Sec. Venture centre (pharmacy)
12-pharm Sarafadeen Bakare: kishi Rep (Pharmacy)
13-Dr L. O. AbdurRahman: Chairman Advisory/Trade Committee (surgery)
14-Barr. S. F. Akanbi: Sec. Advisory/Trade Committee (Legal unit).
May Allah guide them.
The Chairman of the occasion, Justice Ambali(right) presenting an award to the guest speaker, Dr Salahudeen Jubril Abdullahi shortly after the lecture
share on:

Leave a Response