Olokoba emerges President of Ilorin Emirate Professors

share on:

….As 10 students bag IEPA, Salihu Mustapha’s scholarships

The former Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the Ilorin Genesal Hospital,  Surilere, Ilorin, Professor Abdulfatahi  B. Olokoba has emerged the new President of the Ilorin Emirate Professors’ Association (IEPA).

Professor Olokoba took over from the pioneer President of the association, Professor Sulayman Alege Kuranga on Sunday (December  26, 2022) during the association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at the African Peoples Hall, Onikanga, street, GRA, Ilorin.

New executives taking oath of office

Other new members of the IEPA that will pilot the affairs of the union for the next two years  include Professor Abiodun Amuda Kannike as Vice President,  Professor Binta A. Sulyman as  General Secretary, Professor Abdullahi Alanamu as  Assistant General Secretary,  Professor Mubaraq Sanni as Financial Secretary,  Professor Ibrahim Kayode Adam as Legal Adviser, Professor Abdulraheem S. I  as Welfare Secretary while Profsssor Sulyman Kuranga and Professor  Abdullahi Babs Alafara emerged  the Ex-officio I and II respectively.

Earlier before the inaugurarion of the new executives, the association  presented schorlaship awards to 10 selected Univedsity undergraduates drawn from the five local government areas that made up Ilorin Emirate having distinguished themselves with the impressive CGPA that is above 4 poins and received the sum of 50,000 naira each. 

The beneficiaries rrom Asa LGA are ABDULSALAM Tajudeen Alaburo and ABDULQUADRI Habib Ajani:  Ilorin East LGA are FATAI Olalekan Toheeb and OLADELE Yusuf Olatunji: Ilorin West LGA are ABDULRAHMAN Kabirand ABDULLAHI Robiat Idowu: Ilorin South LGA are YAHAYA Muhammed Kabir and ABDULRAHMAN Ridwanullah Olamilekan: and Moro LGA are SULEIMAN Kamaldeen Olayinka and ALADE Yusuf Aduragba.

The Guest Speaker of the occasion, Professor Abdulganiyu Ambali who is the Ex- Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin urged Professors to use their skills and expertise to better the lot of their immediate society.

Professor Ambali also advised his members to be apolitical and always strive to strike a balance between politics and academic so as to have a peaceful and progressive society.

In his welcome address,  the outgoing President of the association,  Professor S. Kuranga said the IEPA  which started with just 50 members in 2020 has now  recorded over 130 registered members drawn across various Universities in Nigeria and beyond. 

Prof. Kuranga

He explained that the scholarship scheme endowed by the association for indigent but brilliant undergraduates from the five local government areas within the Emirate is a laudable and impactful project that needs to be sustained.
He however thanked Politicians from the Emirate who not only honoured their invitation but also donated generously for the sustainability of the association and its programmes,  pointing out the association sent out invitation to all notable politicians and political office holders from the Emirate.

However, the Senatorial  candidate from Kwara Central, Mallam Salihu Mustapha pledged the sum of 200, 000 to the 10 selected students and piece of land each in Malete and donated the sum of 10 million to the association while Senator Rukayat Gbemisola Saraki also pledged the sum of 1million naira donation to the association. 

Other highlights of the event was the presentation of meritorious awards to the pioneer executives who served the association  between 2020 and 2022. They are as follows:

1. Professor Sulyman Alege KURANGA, FWACS, FICS (President)2. Professor Abdulfatai Bamidele OLOKOBA, FWACP (Investment Officer)
3. Professor Razaq Funsho ATATA, FIPAN (Financial Secretary)
4. Professor Alafara Abdullahi BABA, FCSN, FMSN (General Secretary)
5.Professor Baba Awoye Issa, FWACP, FAPA (Auditor)
6. Professor Abdul Kabir Hussain SOLIHU(Vice President)
7. Professor Aishatu Ahmed GOBIR, FMCPaed, FRCPEdin (Welfare Officer)
8. Professor Abubakar Siddiq MOHAMMED(Asst. Secretary)
9. Professor Abiodun Amuda KANNIKE, SAN(Legal Adviser)
10. Professor Raheem Adaramaja SHEHU, FNAHE, MTRCN(Treasurer)

share on:

Leave a Response