6 KWASU students receive Alumni’s scholarship

share on:

Vice Chancellor, Prof. Akanbi SAN  (2nd left) presenting Cheque of 50k to one of the beneficiaries, Tawakaltu Omolabake Abgoola (2nd right), while Alumni President Mr Uthman Abdulkadir (left) and KWASU  SUG President  Mr Okiki (right) watch

By Is’haq Babatunde

No fewer than six indigent students of the Kwara State University (KWASU), Malete, have benefitted the KWASU Alumi Association’s Scholarship Award.

Each beneficiary  was presented with sum of N50, 000 as support for their educational programmes.

Presenting the cheques to the beneficiaries in his office recently, the Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Muhammed Mustapaha Akanbi SAN congratulated them  for being lucky to have been selected  for the scholarship.
The Vice Chancellor specifically thanked the alumni association for the initiative and pragmatic efforts at putting smile on the faces of less privileged students.

He said the scholarship award would go a long way in helping the beneficiaries in the pursuance of their academic programmes.
The Vice Chancellor, however, advised KWASU students to aspire for lofty height and should not allow age or gender prevent them from achieving their goals in life.

“Your greatest rival is your definition of your future. Prepare a good future for yourselves and be steadfast and courageous.

“Always make positive comments about your University. Do your school proud, don’t castigate your school. Support your school with everything,  be passionate about your school. Always wear your student I D card with integrity and dignity, talk about your school in glowing terms. Don’t be proud but have pride” the Vice Chancellor advised.

Earlier in his address, the  President,   KWASU Alumni Association, Mr Uthman Abdulkadir (Fodio) said the beneficiaries were carefully selected after undergoing screening exercise.

Fodio explained that the rationale behind the scholarship award is to cushion the burden of beneficiaries’ education sponsorship and to serve as a motivation for the students through provision  of financial support to them in the course of their educational pursuit.

Also speaking, the Chairman Scholarship Committee, Mr Sodiq Omotosho said the committee was transparent in the selection process that produced the beneficiaries  of the award.


share on:

Leave a Response