Coronavirus: BAGYUM sensetises Ilorin residents, salutes sit-at-home policy

share on:

As Coronavirus pandemic continues to ravage in Nigeria and other countries of the world, the Balogun Gambari Youth Movement (BAGYUM) has thrown it’s weight behind the sit-at-home policy of the kwara state government, even as the movement advised kwara residents not to harbour visitors from any state during this ongoing partial lockdown.

The BAGYUM made this known in a statement signed by it’s Pressident, Mr Sulaiman Olayinka Sakariyah, and  made available to journalists in Ilorin on Monday (March 30, 2020).

The association advised residents of Kwara state to abide by all directives as laid down by the governments at all levels including health personnel’s instructions to prevent the spread of Covid 19 in the country.

Sakariyah urged the kwara state government to strengthen it’s surveillance system in all boundary areas of the state so as to prevent the influx of people from other states in to kwara state.

The association particularly appealed to the state government to keep her eyes and hears on ground in all border areas  of the state in order to guard against people gaining entrance into the state through land borders.

The statement appreciated the state government’s swift reaction to the outbreak of Covid 19 and enjoined government to maintain the tempo so as to sustain the status of coronavirus-free state in kwara state.

BAGYUM President, Mr Sulaiman Olayinka Sakariyah

The BAGYUM President disclosed that the association has been moving round the communities to sensetise and enlighten people about danger inherent in coronavirus pandemic by a away of educating people to maintain personal hygiene, avoid crowded place and observe social distance as preventive measures to stop the spread of this contagious viral disease called Covid 19.

Sakariyah disclosed that BAGYUM is a  non Governmental youth Organization formed within the four wards that made up of Balogun Gambari District of Ilorin East Local Government Area of kwara state comprising Gambari Ward I, Gambari Ward II, Ibagun and Zango wards. 

share on:

Leave a Response