NSE inducts 85 graduate members in Ilorin

share on:

The Ilorin branch of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) yesterday inducted no fewer than 85 engineering graduands of the University of Ilorin as graduate members of the society.

The inductees took graduate membership oath of the society at the public lecture and induction ceremony for the 2019 engineering graduates of Faculty of Engineering and Technology of the university held at the secretariat of the branch in Ilorin.

The NSE branch Chairman, Engineer Mashood Akanbi, administered the oath on the graduate members at the event attended by the Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Technology of the institution, Professor D.S. Ogunniyi.

The branch chairman, who conducted the event through his Vice Chairman, Dr (Mrs) Temitope Elizabeth Odetoye, urged the inductees to be innovative and invent new ideas to improve the nation’s infrastructure.

He noted that the recent closure of the nation’s borders was to encourage local production of rice, saying that the graduate members can take the advantage of the government’s action to to grow local rice production.

The NSE boss congratulated the inductees on their successful academic feat at the University of Ilorin and reminded them of the need to apply their expertise in solving multifarious challenges confronting the country.

Earlier, in his lecture titled “Effects of Flood on Pavements: The Role of an Engineer”, Engineer Babatunde Joseph Bakinde, blamed incessant flood disaster on inadequate drainage and the sustained habit of throwing debris in water channel when it rains.

The Guest Speaker also attributed the problem of collapsed public infrastructure on faulty design at the conception of such facilities, saying that the design of a project must be carried out in line with the standard and global best practices.

Bakinde called for regular maintenance of roads and adequate provision of drainage to contain volume of water arising from flooding.

Highlight of the event was the presentation of award to some of the graduate members for their academic success and contributions to the growth and development of the society.

share on:

Leave a Response