All set for 3rd JAMB Tertiary Institutions Football Competition

share on:

All is set for the third edition of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) sponsored football competition among tertiary institutions in Nigeria, holding in Ilorin, Kwara state between October 13th to October 19th, 2019.

The competition, which is enjoying the support of the state government, will be played in three centers of University of Ilorin Sports Center, Kwara Football Academy and the Main-Bowl of the Kwara State Stadium Complex, Ilorin.

Speaking on the preparedness for the competition, the Chairman of the Main Organising Committee (MOC), Alhaji Abdulkadri Akanbi Shuaib said that all the 16 participating institutions have been mobilised to be in Ilorin on Saturday, ahead of the screening on Sunday.

The Nigeria University Games (NUGA), Nigeria Polytechnic Games (NIPOGA) and Nigeria Colleges of Education Games (NICEGA) listed five institutions each, while the Innovative Entrepreneur Initiative (IEI) listed one, and the students so registered by the schools must not only be bonafide students, but with JAMB registration numbers.

The sponsor, according to Alhaji Akanbi, who is also the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, has provided accommodation, feeding and transportation for the 16 schools and their officials, and has also made available, the kits for them to play.

The instructions have been grouped ahead of the hostilities, and GloryLand Institute for Management Studies, Ankpa, Kogi state will play in Group A alongside Imo State University, Owerri, Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri and Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi.

Federal Polytechnic, Ede will play in Group B with Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri and Federal College of Education (Technical), Gombe, while in Group C are University of Ilorin, Ekiti State University, Ado, Niger State College of Education, Minna and Federal Polytechnic, Nekede, Imo state.

The last group, Group D has Federal University of Petroleum, Delta state, Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin, Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria and Federal College of Education, Obudu.

Niger State College of Education, Minna won the first edition in 2017, while Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria did same last year, 2018.

share on:

Leave a Response