Adimula emerges President of Commonwealth Association

share on:

A lecturer at the Centre for Peace and Strategic Studies, University of Ilorin, Dr (Mrs) Ruth Abiola Adimola, has emerged the new President of Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows Alumni Association, Nigeria (COSFAN).

A statement issued by the Publicity Secretary of the association, Mr Taiwo Obe, in ilorin yesterday said Mrs Adimula was elected during the election of new officers of the association.

The statement noted that COSFAN, a nonprofit organization, consists of eminent Nigerians who have enjoyed the sponsorship of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), United Kingdom in their respective postgraduate academic pursuits and/or career enhancement from 1960 to date.

Presenting officers and members of the association profile booklet to the Minister of Education, Alhaji Adamu Adamu, the newly elected President said Nigeria and British Governments had greatly impacted in members of the association and pledged that members are ready to serve the Nigerian society.

Mrs Adimola disclosed that members of the association will give free service of their professional skills to the education sector and other relevant bodies with a view to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and for national development.

The don, who is also the Senior Special Assistant to the Kwara State Governor on Women Affairs, urged government at all levels, development agencies, tertiary institutions of learning, parastatals and corporations to avail themselves COSFAN voluntary services.

Other newly elected officers of the association, according to the statement, included Vice President, Cyril Ojo Chide Akagwu; General Secretary, Chidi Ezegwu; Treasurer/Financial Secretary, Aminu Ado; Publicity Secretary, Mr Taiwo Obe and two Regional Coordinators, Mrs. Helen Akinwande-Fidelis (South West) and Samuel Olushola Oyegunle (North Central).

The statement added that the former President of the association, Dr Uduak Udom, emerged an ex-official member while former Director General, UNESCO, Prof. Micheal Omolewa and the former Vice-Chancellor, University of Uyo, Professor Comfort Ekpo, remained advisers to the association.

share on:

Leave a Response