Guber Primary: Razaq Atunwa emerges Kwara PDP flagbearer

share on:

A member representing Asa/Ilorin West Constituency at the House of Representatives, Barrister Razaq Atunwa has emerged the flagbearer of the kwara Peoples Democratic Party for the 2019 gubernatorial election.


Atunwa, defeated another current member of the National Assembly and former Governor of Kwara state, Senator Muhammed Shaba Lafiagi at the guberntorial primary that held on Monday at Banquet Hall, opposite Government House, Ilorin.

Barrister Razaq Atunwa and Senator Muhammed Sha’aba Lafiagi remained the only aspirants that competed at the party primary after nine other contestants in the race were said to have voluntarily withdrawn from the race.

Atuwa who was a former commissioner of various ministries in the state and former Speaker of the state House of Assembly polled 1,555 votes while Alhaji Sha’aba Lafiagi had 578 votes.

Total number of delegates that participated in the voting exercice were 2, 241 and there was record of 37 invalid votes.

He was former Commissioner of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Works, and Ministry of Information.


He was also the immediate past Speaker of the State of Assembly before occupying his present position at the federal house of representatives.

Atunwa is from Asa local givernment area of the state, one of the four local government areas under the Kwara Central.
Share on:

share on:

Leave a Response